Thursday, June 16, 2011

VA "Dark Punk Arise"

This compilation is much more up my alley than the last one. As the title suggests, it's filled with darker sounding punk bands of which are some of my favourites like Dažd, Warcollapse, Cross Stitched Eyes and Rudimentary Peni.
Again this is web release and the bitrates vary from 128 to 320 kbps, so it was strange for me to find out that there is a physical cd-r version (limited to 50 copies) of the compilation with a booklet containing the lyrics. I don't know what's the point of the CD since it's obvious that the compilation is made from the lossy mp3, but if that makes someone happy...
Apart from my usual bitching (I won't even bitch about the sound levels), I'd like to say that this is very good compilation without a bad track and I'd recommend it to anyone who's feels like listening to something new (and old).
I've included the lyrics in the mp3s and added country and date of each track in the comments.

Released: 2011
Label: DIY
Size: 88 MB

See/Hide tracklist

01. The Austrasian Goat - AFBM (Anti-Facist Black Metal)
02. Contagium - Wallow
03. Arxi Tou Telous - Ksespasma Misous (Burst Of Hate)
04. Spectres - Cold War
05. Dažd - Tamo Dole (Down There)
06. Chambre Froide - Azazel
07. Iskra - Bureval
08. Monarch - A Look At Tomorow (Discharge cover)
09. Warcollapse - Crust As Fuck Existence
10. Cross Stitched Eyes - Breath Of Lies
11. Deathcharge - The Hangman
12. Rudimentary Peni - Eyes Of The Dead
13. Valpourgia Nyxta - Politikoi Kratoumenoi
14. Black Trinity - Throne Of Dark
15. Filth Of Mankind - Obledna Rzeczywistosc


Wednesday, June 15, 2011

VA "Lifeline From Beyond The Grave"

This is the first from the two compilations that Kostas sent and it is done by B24 label that he is involved into.
First of all, I'll get out of the way all the stuff that I don't like with web releases such as this one. The bitrates on the tracks vary from 128 to 320 kbps, but that is not the biggest issue. It's the different loudness levels between the tracks. If it was be adjusted, it could be much more enjoyable.
OK, now to the good part. This compilation gathers various music styles, from metal, hardcore punk to doom and experimental.
I'm not big fan of experimental(ish) music (even though after a couple of listens A Sun Gone Black track starts to appeal more to me), and if I'd have to pick my favourite bands on the compilation it would be Per Capita, MeinhoF and my favourite punishment for ears: Potop from Macedonia.
I've embedded the links of all the bands' MySpace pages in mp3 tags, so, if you wanna check out more...

Released: 2010
Label: B24
Size: 50 MB

See/Hide tracklist

01. Far End Echo - Sundance
02. Depressor - Lord Of The Flesh
03. Snuff Film - OMGWTF
04. Wormhead - Leucochloridium Paradoxum
05. Per Capita - Erased By Authority
06. A Sun Gone Black - Crescent Blackout
07. MeinhoF - A.A.C.A. (Anarchy And Chaos Association)
08. Potop - 3
09. Stink - Pigs In Control
10. Mother Disobedience - Muttertag


Sunday, June 5, 2011

Mother Disobedience "3 Folk Greats About Fear, Faith And Consumption"

This is third EP by Mother Disobedience (this time in 320 kbps) and it's released after their "Lahar" EP from 2009 which you can find on Escape From The Wave, the blog done by Kostas. You can find more greek (and other) bands there too.
As I've already said, this is not my cup of tea, but I'm really looking forward to hearing Mother Disobedience/Arxi Tou Telous project band called Plague which plays early 90's crust/d-beat black metal. Surely sounds like a winner to me.

Released: 2011
Label: DIY
Size: 74 MB

01. Fear
02. Faith
03. Consumption


Mother Disobedience "3rd Studio Amendment"

Kostas from Arxi Tou Telous sent me another contribution. In fact, it's four contributions. Two albums of his other band - Mother Disobedience and two compilations on which his bands appeared.
Mother Disobedience play experimental noise rock and I believe that this is their first release. I am not a very big fan of experimental music, so as much as I love his other band, this one doesn't speak to me. Don't get me wrong, I think it's quality work done here, but my ears like other noises more.
If you are into such kind of stuff I urge you to give it a try.
Mp3 quality is 128 kbps, but they sound good.

Released: 2008
Label: DIY
Size: 24 MB

01. Conquistadores
02. Sasha Grey
03. Nano Vas Issad Rammer (Intro)