Tuesday, October 20, 2009

VA "Grito Suburbano" LP

I guess that everybody knows this record, but for those few of you that don't - this compilation is probably the most important punk record from Brasil. It was originally released in 1982 on Punk Rock Discos, but my record is 1994 re-release by New Face Records. The bands featured are Olho Seco, Inocentes and Cólera and you know what to expect when all 12 songs last just under 20 minutes.
Here's some info about Grito Suburbano from Inocentes KFTH page:
During 1981, local punks (including members of the band) started organizing the legendary "Grito Suburbano" ("Suburban Screams") shows that took place all around the city and encouraged many kids to get into punk and start their own bands. Late in that same year, they recorded the compilation of the same name with Cólera and Olho Seco (another band, called Anarcolatras, was also supposed to be on the compilation, but ended up not taking part), but the result was so bad that all the bands had to record it all over again and the record (the first punk LP in Brazil) only came out in early '82.

Released: 1994
Label: New Face Records
Size: 48 MB

See/Hide tracklist

01. Olho Seco: Desespero
02. Olho Seco: Sinto
03. Inocentes: Garotos Do Subúrbio
04. Inocentes: Medo De Morrer
05. Cólera: João
06. Cólera: Gritar
07. Olho Seco: Lutar Matar
08. Olho Seco: Eu Não Sei
09. Inocentes: Pânico Em S.P.
10. Inocentes: Morte Nuclear
11. Cólera: Subúrbio Geral
12. Cólera: Hhei


1 comment:

sime said...

thanks very much for this. have not heard this since the mid 80s when I last owned a copy.