Friday, January 27, 2012

Nonsense "Prazan Pogled"

Few more news that I got recently.
I've already written about Nonsense in my last post about them so go there to find more about the band. Now I'm informing you that they've recorded new EP called Prazan Pogled (Empty Stare) and you can get it for free here or from Wasted Potentials blog where you can also find all the news about bands from Požega. If you like 80s sounding dirty hardcore punk, you'll like them. They plan to release this on CD and if possible some other format. We'll see.
Also, Internal Autonomy discography double CD is out so check out this post's comments to find out more.

Released: 2012
Label: DIY
Size: 20 MB

See/Hide tracklist

01. Primitivna Provincija
02. Moral
03. Hvala
04. Kolektivno Ludilo
05. Plodovi Pakla
06. Osuda
07. Bijelo Roblje
08. When All Golden Turned To Shit (Impaled Nazarene cover)

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Bolesno Grinje "Grinje!Grinje!Grinje!"

Not really a post. Still too lazy for it right now.
I just wanted to let you know that Bolesno Grinje have new album out so you can check it out. It's the same great grinding crust punk as always and it is available as digital download and you can pay as much as you like for it. If you are generous, it could see the light of the day as an LP. Go to their site to check it out.

Monday, August 29, 2011

Scraps "Crush Europe '92" 7"

Scraps were hardcore punk band from Lille, France that were active from mid-80s to mid-90s. As a kid I've listened to their first two 7"s (Apartheid and Aaargh!) religiously and one of the first bass lines that I learned to play in my life was the beginning of Dubeauf S'en Va T'en Guerre from Aaargh! 7".
Later on I haven't got nothing newer from them until I bought this 7" around 1996(ish) and it was a disappointment to me. First of all, it is a live recording and they're mostly not so good to me, but it also lacked that frantic energy that the old releases had. I gave it a go again now after more than 10 years and it still doesn't do it for me, but maybe you like their later period stuff, so here it is.
The record doesn't says when it was out so I'll trust discogs site that it is 1992 release.

Released: 1992
Label: Ammunation Records
Size: 29 MB

See/Hide tracklist

01. Another Eviction
02. Just No
03. Refuse
04. Beyond Hate
05. Break Down The Wall (Pink Floyd cover)
06. Screaming For Change (Uniform Choice cover)


Sunday, July 24, 2011

Lord Green "Last Demo"

This is the second band that Fan The Flames Records sent for review.
Lord Green is Quad Cities, Illinois based band and they play hardcore mixed with sludgy parts which is winning combination if you ask me.
This is their last demo from the series of couple of them and the demo opens with slow, heavy, sludgy instrumental track and then goes to hardcore punk hell with buzzing bass and then again sludgy parts here and there (ha-ha, another marvelous piece of music review, courtesy of me).
All in all I love this a lot and it is great ganja fuelled stoner punk with tracktitles like Higher Than God as proof of that (even though that is one of the faster tracks).
If you want more info, here are their web and MySpace pages and if you wanna buy the tape, go here.

Released: 2011
Label: Fan The Flames Records
Size: 62 MB

See/Hide tracklist

01. Flying
02. Losing The Race
03. Fucked In Every Direction
04. We're Fucked
05. Into The Sun
06. Higher Than God
07. Dropping Out
08. Hook, Line, And Sinker


Saturday, July 23, 2011

Youwretch "Youwretch" EP

Another contribution I got (almost 5 months ago - sorry for that) is from Fan The Flames Records with links for Youwretch and Lord Green releases. I don't have intention to publish reviews for everything I get through the mail, but since I am totally lazy lately and Fan The Flames Records seem to have really good bands under their wing I am happy to give them a couple of reviews. Look out for their releases.
Youwretch is Minneapolis based hardcore punk band that sound a bit like stoner brothers of Tragedy (without too much of the stoner bit) and this is their debut EP. They are currently working on songs for their upcoming full length and if you are from their hometown, you can get a physical copy of this EP at Extreme Noise Records.
Fan The Flames Records' page says that a limited run of 7" vinyl is in the works, but I don't know if it has already been released or not.
Band links here, here and here.

Released: 2011
Label: Fan The Flames Records / Forward! Records
Size: 22 MB

01. Confront
02. Exhume
03. Failure And Worship
04. The Rider


Thursday, June 16, 2011

VA "Dark Punk Arise"

This compilation is much more up my alley than the last one. As the title suggests, it's filled with darker sounding punk bands of which are some of my favourites like Dažd, Warcollapse, Cross Stitched Eyes and Rudimentary Peni.
Again this is web release and the bitrates vary from 128 to 320 kbps, so it was strange for me to find out that there is a physical cd-r version (limited to 50 copies) of the compilation with a booklet containing the lyrics. I don't know what's the point of the CD since it's obvious that the compilation is made from the lossy mp3, but if that makes someone happy...
Apart from my usual bitching (I won't even bitch about the sound levels), I'd like to say that this is very good compilation without a bad track and I'd recommend it to anyone who's feels like listening to something new (and old).
I've included the lyrics in the mp3s and added country and date of each track in the comments.

Released: 2011
Label: DIY
Size: 88 MB

See/Hide tracklist

01. The Austrasian Goat - AFBM (Anti-Facist Black Metal)
02. Contagium - Wallow
03. Arxi Tou Telous - Ksespasma Misous (Burst Of Hate)
04. Spectres - Cold War
05. Dažd - Tamo Dole (Down There)
06. Chambre Froide - Azazel
07. Iskra - Bureval
08. Monarch - A Look At Tomorow (Discharge cover)
09. Warcollapse - Crust As Fuck Existence
10. Cross Stitched Eyes - Breath Of Lies
11. Deathcharge - The Hangman
12. Rudimentary Peni - Eyes Of The Dead
13. Valpourgia Nyxta - Politikoi Kratoumenoi
14. Black Trinity - Throne Of Dark
15. Filth Of Mankind - Obledna Rzeczywistosc


Wednesday, June 15, 2011

VA "Lifeline From Beyond The Grave"

This is the first from the two compilations that Kostas sent and it is done by B24 label that he is involved into.
First of all, I'll get out of the way all the stuff that I don't like with web releases such as this one. The bitrates on the tracks vary from 128 to 320 kbps, but that is not the biggest issue. It's the different loudness levels between the tracks. If it was be adjusted, it could be much more enjoyable.
OK, now to the good part. This compilation gathers various music styles, from metal, hardcore punk to doom and experimental.
I'm not big fan of experimental(ish) music (even though after a couple of listens A Sun Gone Black track starts to appeal more to me), and if I'd have to pick my favourite bands on the compilation it would be Per Capita, MeinhoF and my favourite punishment for ears: Potop from Macedonia.
I've embedded the links of all the bands' MySpace pages in mp3 tags, so, if you wanna check out more...

Released: 2010
Label: B24
Size: 50 MB

See/Hide tracklist

01. Far End Echo - Sundance
02. Depressor - Lord Of The Flesh
03. Snuff Film - OMGWTF
04. Wormhead - Leucochloridium Paradoxum
05. Per Capita - Erased By Authority
06. A Sun Gone Black - Crescent Blackout
07. MeinhoF - A.A.C.A. (Anarchy And Chaos Association)
08. Potop - 3
09. Stink - Pigs In Control
10. Mother Disobedience - Muttertag